The Central Society for Clinical and Translational Research is one of the oldest academic medical societies in the Midwest.

Our Vision: Promoting a vibrant, supportive community of multidisciplinary, clinical, and translational medical research to benefit humanity.  

Our Mission: Develop and support communication, collaboration, and career development within a community of medical researchers in the central U.S. and beyond.

Members are academic leaders of medical schools in the Midwest however, CSCTR has active members throughout the U.S. and Canada. The society publishes the monthly Translational Research: The Journal of Laboratory and Clinical Medicine and holds an Annual Meeting that contains cutting-edge papers, posters, lectures, and state-of-the-art forums.  You are encouraged to apply for membership


Journal of Investigative Medicine

Abstracts and Case Reports accepted to the 2020 meeting are published online in the Journal of Investigative Medicine at afmr.org/journal.cgi and can be accessed via https://jim.bmj.com/content/68/5/1026. The hard copy will be mailed to meeting attendees in June.  The citation for published work is: J Investig Med 2019;67:(page numbers).

Save the Date

2021 Virtual Midwest Clinical and Translational Research Meeting


CSCTR Membership

We encourage you to JOIN CSCTR!

  1.  Apply online
  2. Upload:
    1. Your current CV or Biosketch
    2. A letter of support from your home institution
  3. Membership committee will review

Visit the Membership section for full details.

Join Now!

ECDA Award

2020 ECDA Award Recipients

CSCTR congratulates the 2020 Early Career Development Award recipients. This award provides the recipient a $10,000 grant to be used to supplement any combination of salary and/or lab support.  Apply for an ECDA!


Hongxia Ren, PhD
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Josiane L. Broussard, PhD
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO

Jose Cordoba-Chacon, PhD
University of Illinois
Chicago, IL

Nicole Rogus-Pulia, PhD
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI

Jeffrey P. Ward, MD, PhD
Washington University
St. Louis, MO

Brandon A. Miller, MD, PhD
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY

CSCTR New Members

Farsad Afshinnia, MD
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Gregory Aubert, MD, PhD
Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine
Chicago, IL

Kristina Bailey, MD
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE

Jeffrey W. Brown, MD, PhD
Washington University
St. Louis, MO

James B. Byrd, MD, MS
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Bong Sook Jhun, PhD
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Stephen M. Modell, MD, MS
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Jin O-Uchi, MD, PhD
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Hongxia Ren, PhD
Indiana University
Indianapolis, IN

Jose B. Saenz, MD, PhD
Washington University School of Medicine
Clayton, MO

Faraaz Ali Shah, MD, MPH
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, PA

Chetan Shenoy, MBBS
University of Minnesota
Plymouth, MN

Stacia Shipman, DO
Integris Southwest Medical Center
Edmond, OK

Min Xie, MD, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL

Welcome to the Society!