Monday, April 24, 2023


7:00 am – 5:00 pm



8:00 am – 8:30 am

Welcome and CSCTR Annual Business Meeting


8:30 am – 10:30 am

MWAFMR Career Development Workshop

Jesse Davidson, MD
Associate Medical Director, Children's Hospital Colorado Research Institute/Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Ajay K. Jain, MD
Pediatric Gastroenterologist at Cardinal Glennon Children's Medical Center/Medical Director of Pediatric Liver Transplantation at Saint Louis University

Frederick G. Hamel, PhD
Associate Chief of Staff for Research, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Professor of Internal Medicine, Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience, UNMC


10:30 am – 10:45 am



10:45 am – 11:45 pm

New Investigator Session


AFMR Henry Christian Awardee

Outstanding Young Investigator

Featured New Investigator

2022 Early Career Development Awardees
Patricia Bloom
Shuai Li, MD, PhD
Nathan Schoettler, MD, PhD
Zhihong(Joe) Yang, PhD


11:45 pm – 12:45 pm



12:45 pm – 1:45 pm

Department Chair Session
Session Chair:
Michelle Kang Kim, MD, PhD
Chair of the Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition with Cleveland Clinic’s Digestive Disease & Surgery Institute

Junior Investigators
Nicole Welch, MD
Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition, Cleveland Clinic

Claire Jansson-Knodell, MD
Gastroenterology Fellow at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Katherine A. Falloon, MD
Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition Cleveland Clinic


1:45 pm – 2:00 pm



2:00 pm – 3:00 pm

Cardiology/Pulmonary Lecture

Mario Castro, MD
Professor of Medicine, Vice Chair for Clinical and Translational Research, Department of Medicine, Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine at University of Kansas Medical Center


3:00 pm – 4:15 pm

Poster Session and Opening Reception

4:15 pm – 4:30 pm



4:30 pm  – 5:45 pm

60th Annual Max Miller Lecture in Diabetes Research

Carmella Evans-Molina, MD, PhD, MS
Director, Indiana Diabetes Research Center, Indiana University School of Medicine


Inflammation, Immunity, and Transplant Meeting

Roslyn B. Mannon, MD
Vice Chair of Research, Department of Internal Medicine/Professor, Division of Nephrology/Nephrology Associate Chief of Research

Joseph R. Leventhal, MD, PhD
Fowler McCormick Professor of Surgery/Professor of Surgery (Organ Transplantation), Northwestern Medicine, Feinberg School of Medicine


5:45 pm

Dinner (on your own)

Tuesday, April 25, 2023


7:00 am – 2:30 pm



7:30 am – 9:00 am

Mentor Breakfasts

  1. How to learn from and land leadership positions on Regional and National committees

  2. Becoming an independent investigator: Asking the right questions and funding your research

  3. Navigating authorship: Tips from behind the scenes of a journal

  4. Setting priorities: Communication and negotiation

  5. Identifying mentors and maintaining good mentor/mentee relationships

  6. The balancing act for women in medicine and science

  7. The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Leaders in Science and Medicine

  8. Crisis Management: The Pandemic and Beyond, turning challenges into opportunities for growth

Attendee Breakfast


9:00 am – 9:15 am



9:15 am – 10:15 am

AFMR Keynote Presentation
Moderator: Jennifer Alexander-Brett, MD, PhD

Michelle Kang Kim, MD, PhD
Chair of the Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition with Cleveland Clinic’s Digestive Disease & Surgery Institute


10:15 am – 10:30 am



10:00 am – 11:30 am

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Symposium

Lisa Tussings-Humphreys, PhD, MS, RD
Associate Professor/Kinesiology and Nutrition/College of Applied Health Sciences University of Illinois Cancer Center

Nilay Shah, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Cardiology and Preventive Medicine, and general and preventive cardiologist in the Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute, at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine


11:30 am – 1:00 pm



1:00 am – 2:00 pm

CSCTR John B. Hickam Endowed Lecture
The John B. Hickam Endowed Lectureship was established in 1981 to honor John Hickam, President of CSCR in 1970.  At the time of his death in 1970, Dr. Hickam was Chair of Medicine at Indiana University School of Medicine.  Dr. Hickam was internationally recognized in medical research, particularly in the areas of lung, heart and circulatory system diseases.  Dr. Hickam was also responsible for the administration of research programs, which established the Indiana University School of Medicine as one of the nation’s primary centers for research in heart disease.

Russell Glasgow, PhD
Research Professor, Department of Family Medicine University of Colorado/Director, ACCORDS Dissemination and Implementation Science (D&I) Program


2:00 pm – 2:15 pm


2:15 pm – 3:15 pm

Implementation Science



3:15 pm – 3:30 pm


3:30 pm – 4:30 pm

Translational Science  I: Implementation Science Poster Discussion



Translational Science Oral Session II: Cardiac, Renal, Endocrine/Metabolism, Gastroenterology, and Health Outcomes


Translational Science Oral Session III: Pulmonary/Critical Care, Hematology/Oncology, Rheumatology/Immunology and Neurology


4:30 pm – 5:30 pm

Closing Reception