2020 Midwest Clinical & Translational Research Meeting


Thursday, April 2

9 am – 7 pm


11 am – 3 pm

CSCTR Council Meeting

1 – 3 pm

MWAFMR Career Development Workshop
Moderators: Joumana T. Chaiban, MD, FACE, University of Illinois at Chicago/Advocate Christ Medical Center; Edgar V. Lerma, MD, FACP, FASN, University of Illinois at Chicago

Scientists on Social Media: Claiming the Digital Space
Armand Krikorian, MD, University of Illinois at Chicago/ Advocate Christ Medical Center

Writing in the Sciences
Kristin Sainani, PhD, Stanford University

3:15 – 3:30 pm


3:30 – 5 pm

New Investigator Session (8 min each including Q & A)
Moderators: Joumana T. Chaiban, MD, FACE, University of Illinois at Chicago/Advocate Christ Medical Center; Jeffrey Laurence, MD, Weill Cornell Medical College; Terry G. Unterman, MD, University of Illinois at Chicago VA West Side Medical Center

AFMR Henry Christian Awardees

MWAFMR Trainee Travel Awardees

Outstanding Young Investigator

Featured New Investigator
Abnormalities in Proinsulin Processing in Islets from Individuals with Longstanding T1D
Emily K. Sims MD, Indiana University School of Medicine

Early Career Development Awardees

5 – 6:30 pm

Poster Session A & Opening Reception

6:30 – 8 pm

Cardiology / Pulmonary Lecture
Moderator: Steven Dudek, MD, University Illinois at Chicago

Single Cell Analysis of Lung Populations in Pulmonary Fibrosis
Paul Reyfman, MD, MS, Instructor of Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Aspects of the Extrapulmonary Effects of Asthma and Cardiovascular Effects
Nizar N. Jarjour, MD, Professor of Medicine, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine

Max Miller Lecture in Diabetes Research
Moderator: Dawn Belt Davis, MD, PhD, University of Wisconsin – Madison

Endocrine Regulation of Carbohydrate Homeostasis by FGF21
Matthew J. Potthoff, PhD, Associate Professor, University of Iowa

Modulating Thermogenic Beige Fat for Metabolic Health
Yuwei Jiang, PhD, Assistant Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago

Mapping Mitochondrial Nutrient Metabolism in Liver
Shawn C. Burgess, PhD, Professor, Center for Human Nutrition and Department of Pharmacology, UT Southwestern Medical Center

Renal / Transplant Lecture
Moderator: Suman Setty, MBBS, PhD, University of Illinois at Chicago

Title TBD
Sanjeev Akkina, MD, Loyola University Medical Center

Biomarkers in Nephrology
Jay L. Koyner, MD, University of Chicago

Biomarkers in Transplant
Bruce Kaplan, MD, University of Arizona College of Medicine

7 – 9 pm

Social Event with American Physician Scientists Association

Friday, April 3

7 am – 3:30 pm


7 – 8 am

Mentor Breakfast


CSCTR Membership Application Processing

7:30 – 8:30 am

Attendee Breakfast

8:15 – 8:30 am

CSCTR Annual Business Meeting

8:30 – 9:30 am

AFMR Keynote Presentation
Moderator: Joumana T. Chaiban, MD, FACE, University of Illinois at Chicago/Advocate Christ Medical Center

Academia Collaborations with Industry – Lessons for the Future
S. Sethu Reddy, MD, Central Michigan University

9:30 – 10:30 am

Department Chair Session
Chair: Michael S. Bronze, MD, MACP, FIDSA, FRCP, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center

Title TBD
Matthew Walters, PhD, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine

Title TBD
Parthasarathy Chandrakesan, PhD, Assistant Professor of Research

Title TBD
Matlock A Jeffries, MD, Rheumatology

10:30 am – 12 pm

BMT Symposium
Harnessing the Immune System against Cancer: Lessons from Bone Marrow Transplant

Moderators: Gregory M. Vercellotti, MD; Pavan Reddy, MD

Immune Cellular Therapy for Malignancy: TILS CAR T-Cells
Michael R. Bishop, MD, University of Chicago

Why does Thrombotic Microangiopathy Occur after Stem Cell Transplant?
Stella M Davies, MBBS, PhD; Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

Lessons from the Biology of Pregnancy Applied to Graft-Versus-Host Disease
Shernan Holtan, MD, University of Minnesota

12 – 1:30 pm

Poster Session B & Lunch

Annual Translational Research Editorial Meeting

1:45 – 2:45 pm

CSCTR John B. Hickam Endowed Lecture
The John B. Hickam Endowed Lectureship was established in 1981 to honor John Hickam, President of CSCR in 1970.  At the time of his death in 1970, Dr. Hickam was Chair of Medicine at Indiana University School of Medicine.  Dr. Hickam was internationally recognized in medical research, particularly in the areas of lung, heart and circulatory system diseases.  Dr. Hickam was also responsible for the administration of research programs, which established the Indiana University School of Medicine as one of the nation’s primary centers for research in heart disease.
Moderator: David Kennedy, PhD, University of Toledo  

Innovation in the Extreme
Scott E. Parazynski, MD, physician and former NASA astronaut

2:45 – 3:30 pm

Research Innovations
Moderator: John D Dickinson, MD, PhD

Challenges of Conducting Research on rare viral illness such as Ebola
James Lawler, MD, MPH, University of Nebraska Medical Center

3:45 – 4:45 pm

Oral Abstract Session I

Oral Abstract Session II

Oral Abstract Session III