2013 Combined Annual Meeting of CSCTR and MWAFMR


Program Schedule

Thursday, April 25, 2013

10:00am - 4:30pm Poster Set-Up
11:00am - 9:00pm Registration Open
11:00am - 4:30pm CSCTR Council Meeting
2:00pm - 5:00pm MWAFMR Career Development Workshop Sarah Whitehouse

Writing Tips for Medical Journal Publication
Sarah Whitehouse, MAW
Senior Medical Writer
Department of Medicine
Office of Clinical Quality & Safety and Corporate Services
Henry Ford Health System

David M. Kendall, MDDavid M. Kendall, MD
Distinguished Medical Fellow
Global Medical Affairs - Lilly Diabetes

5:00pm - 5:30pm CSCTR Annual Business Meeting
5:30pm - 7:00pm Poster Session & Opening Reception

2013 Outstanding Young Investigator, Cardiovascular Award and Oral Abstract Award abstracts will be on display during this session.

7:00pm - 8:30pm Opening Plenary–Max Miller Lecture Eve Van Cauter

Metabolic impact of sleep disturbances and circadian misalignment
Eve Van Cauter, PhD
Department of Medicine
Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
The University of Chicago Biomedical Sciences
Chicago, IL

7:00pm - 9:00pm Opening Plenary–The Role of Immunology in Health and Disease

Keynote Presenter

Marcel R.M. van den Brink

The Role of Intestinal Microbiota in Allogeneic Bone Marrow Transplantation
Marcel R.M. van den Brink, MD, PhD
Head, Division of Hematologic Oncology; Alan N. Houghton Chair
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY

Supporting Presentations by:
Helicobacter Gastritis, Hedgehog Signaling and Gastric Cancer
Juanita L. Merchant, MD, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine, Professor of Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Division of Gastroenterology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

Quantitative imaging of human tissue in lupus nephritis
Marcus Clark, MD
Professor of Medicine and Pathology
Chief, Section of Rheumatology
The University of Chicago Medicine
Chicago, IL

Helminths and Regulation of Immune-mediated Inflammation
David Elliott, MD
Professor and Division Director
Department of Internal Medicine
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Iowa City, IA

Friday, April 26, 2013

7:00am - 4:00pm Registration Open
7:30am - 8:30am Informal Breakfast Roundtable

Breakfast is open to students, junior faculty, trainees, assistant professors who are interested in talking to the experts about their future in academic research. Full breakfast will be served.

Proposed Table Topics & Table Leaders:

  • Funding Your Research Program: Writing Successful Grant Applications
    Virginia Savin, MD-Kansas City VA Medical Center
  • Sticking up for Yourself: Communication and Negotiation
    Abraham Thomas, MD, MPH—Henry Ford Hospital
  • Including Human Subjects in Your Science
    Kieren Mather, BSc, MD—Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Getting Involved at the Local, Regional and National Level
    Roy Silverstein, MD— Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Choosing the Right Academic Position
    Neal Weintraub, MD-- University of Cincinnati College of Medicine
  • Am I Asking the Right Research Question?
    Jordan Metcalf, MD-- University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
  • Setting Priorities: When to say “Yes” and HOW to say No”
    Carmela Evans-Molina, MD, PhD-- Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Becoming an Independent Investigator
    Terry Unterman, MD—University of Illinois at Chicago
  • "So you want to be an Author" Providing tips from behind the scenes of a journal
    Catherine DeAngelis, MD, MPH—2013 Hickam Lecturer
8:30am - 9:30am AFMR Keynote Session Philipp E. Scherer

Clinical Relevance of Adipose Tissue-Derived Factors
Philipp E. Scherer, PhD
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
Gifford O. Touchstone Jr. and Randolph G. Touchstone
Distinguished Chair in Diabetes Research
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX

9:30am - 10:30am Department Chair Session 1

Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
Richard Walsh, MD, FACC, FACP, FAHA, presiding

Presentations by:

KLF2 Protests Against Ischemic Stroke by Regulating Endothelial Blood Brain Barrier Function
G. Brandon Atkins, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine

A Novel Neurohormonal Pathway Governing Adaptive Muscle Plasticity
Saptarsi Haldar, MD
Assistant Professor

Regulation of Arterial Vasoreactivity by Smooth Muscle Notch Signaling
Aaron Proweller, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Medicine

10:30am - 11:30am Department Chair Session II

Cleveland Clinic
Serpil C. Erzurum, MD, presiding
Chair, Department of Pathobiology
Joint Staff with Respiratory Institute
Cleveland Clinic

Mast Cell Development and Allergic Inflammation
Fred Hsieh, MD
Staff Physician, Respiratory Institute and Learner Research Institute

Myosin Mediates Fibroblast Activation in Fibro proliferative Lesions
Brian D. Southern, MD
Assistant Staff Physician, Respiratory Institute

Cardio-Renal Syndrome in Acute Decompensated Heart Failure
W.H. Wilson Tang, MD, FACC, FAHA
Associate Professor of Medicine, Director Cardiomyopathy Program, Heart and Vascular Institute

11:30am - 12:30pm Poster Session & Lunch
12:30pm - 1:30pm CSCTR Hickam Lecture Catherine de Angelis

Patient Care and Professionalism
Catherine DeAngelis, MD MPH
University Distinguished Service Professor, Emerita
Professor of Pediatrics, Emerita
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine;
Professor of Health Policy and Management,
School of Public Health;
Editor in Chief Emerita, JAMA

1:30pm - 2:00pm Translational Research–Featured New Investigator Lecture Ashraf El-Meanawy

Nephron Adequacy, Prematurity, and Tails from the Womb
Ashraf El-Meanawy, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor, Medicine (Nephrology)
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI

2:00pm - 3:00pm Oral Abstract Session I
(Presentation of award to the Cardiovascular Award recipient)

NADPH Oidase 4 Regulates Pseudomonas Aeruginosa-Induced Endothelial Apoptosis and Permeability
Panfeng Fu, PhD (Cardiovascular Award recipient)
University of Illinois at Chicago

A Mechanism For Rescuing Reduced Cardiac NA+ Current in Heart Failure
Man Liu, PhD
University of Illinois at Chicago

Pathology Indicative of Autophagic Gridlock in Aging and Tauopathy
Mathieu Bakhoum, PhD
University of Texas Medical Branch

Nephirotic Syndrome Caused by Chronic Graft Versus Host Disease-Is It Real?
Binod Dhakal, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin

2:00pm - 3:00pm Oral Abstract Session II
(Presentation of award to the Outstanding Young Investigator recipient)

Computationally Informed Identification of Pancreatic Islet Maturation Pathways
Chong Wee Liew, PhD
University of Illinois at Chicago

Kinetochore-Microtubules Mediate Radiation-Induced Genome Damage
Samuel Bakhoum, PhD
Dartmouth Medical School

Alterations in the DNA Methylome of Fibroblasts From Patients With Idiopathic Pulmonary Fibrosis
Steven Huang, MD
University of Michigan

Microrna-Based Approached Expands on Genomewide Association Study and Identifies SNPS Important For Response to Glucocorticoids in Asthma Patients
R. Stephanie Huang, PhD (Outstanding Young Investigator)
2012 winner of the Featured New Investigator Award
University of Chicago

3:00pm - 4:00pm Closing Poster Session
4:15pm - 5:15pm MWAFMR Scholars Program Reception